Conversation with Abdel Tammari

Lessons learned from ruining an art studio in Morocco.

Hello friends, Mahmoud here. This post-interview was published on the 10th of October 2021 with my friend Abdel Tammari from YEYSOME studio.

This week I talked to Abdel Tammari. He’s a passionate 3D Generalist from Casablanca, Morocco. He creates and makes Motion Designs on Moroccan Culture related art projects that combine innovation and Morocco’s authenticity.

What would a friend or a family member say to describe Abdel?

Dreamer, hard worker, a person who believes in perseverance and continues to do or try to achieve something despite difficulty or discouragement.

How did you start your creative journey?

Back in 2007 when internet cafes becomes popular in Morocco I discovered by coincidence a video of Photoshop image manipulation. I downloaded the software and started playing with it till I got famous in my small village, people were asking me to put them next to Ferrari cars, or in New York City.

Those people encouraged me, they called me a “genius” and encouraged me to pursue this path because for them Photoshop looks like complicated software and I master it.

What does a day look like as a Creator?

I usually spend my day working on client work if not I have my personal because I enjoy creating new ideas, so most of the time I’m next to the computer working, learning new stuff, and watching other creators.

As an introverted person, I don’t socialize too much but this year I decided to start becoming a little bit extroverted, I go out from time to time to hang out with friends or my family.

Tell me about the project you are currently working on.

As I’m always looking to develop my skill, I’m trying to make something in Virtual Reality that can be viewed and interacted with using a VR Headset.

I believe Virtual Reality is the future of creation.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever created for yourself or for a client?

I enjoy making my personal project more than for clients because I get more freedom and flexibility, I think the best project for me is “Taarija Speaker”, I love the idea, textures, and animation, and also is related to our Moroccan culture.

"We have seen many of your creative Art drops, the Taarija Speaker, Casa Balloons, Cyberpunk Hover Casablancais Taxi, Samurai Gerrab, ANAROZE, and others. We find this so unique".

Mahmoud Aitelkatab

Can you mention your top 3 creations you love?

My top 3 creations are Taarija Speaker, Spotify Speaker, and ANAROZE.

Taarija Speaker

TAARIJA is a creative portable speaker inspired by the Moroccan traditional musical instrument "TAARIJA". I'm pretty happy with the result I got, it was fun making transforming "TAARIJA" into something new.

Spotify Smart Speaker

Spotify Smart Speaker is a personal modeling and animation project relay on 3D product visualization.

ANAROZE

Berbers or Amazighs are an ethnic group of several nations indigenous mostly to North Africa and in some northern parts of Western Africa. I'm big fan of Berber culture. ANAROZE is a personal work that I made in my spare time, modeling with Zbrush and Cinema 4D.

Where do you spend your time for inspiration?

I always get most of my inspiration from everything around me in real life, I use Pinterest to search and collect reference images, and I also use Instagram and spent more time watching other creators and getting inspired by them.

Have you ever wondered to tokenize your work and sell it as NFTs?

Yes, I’m looking to start making some original NFTs, I believe NFTs have a future, I just took my time to figure it out and learn more about tokenization. The NFTs markets are rising fast and there are fewer and fewer original NFTs and more limitations.

We’re all about appreciating and celebrating our community members and their accomplishments.

Is there anyone you’d like to appreciate?

First, I would like to thank Mahmoud for giving me the chance to be in the Morocco Reviews community. He’s a kind person and I had the pleasure to talk to him and know him.

Second I would like to appreciate and thank my bother Youness TAMMARI. He’s one of the greatest Artists and Motion Designers I know and he always encourages me to do more and gives me feedback to develop my work.

Where community members can follow your work?

You can find me on Behance, Instagram, and Facebook.

Join the conversation

or to participate.